Can someone check my list of supplies? I'm just starting to learn how to home brew.

Reaction score
Can someone check my list of supplies? I'm just starting to learn how to home brew.

Hot Plate - $30 used
Weighing Scale (free)
Glass Beakers 250ml ($7)
Pre-sealed vials (50mL jugs) ($33)
Nalgene Filter Unit ($25)
22um filters
Hand vacuum pump ($43)
Whatman syringe filters ($5)
Cotton Seed Oil (or grape seed/sesame carrier) ($15)
Benzyl Alcohol 16 oz. ($23)
Benzyl Benzoate 16 oz. ($20)
20mL + 3mL size syringes ($7)
18gauge drawing needles ($8)

I have a science background and lots of lab experience, just not when synthesizing raw hormones...So this will be a learning process for me, any help is appreciated. So far I have this list I've gathered above, prices are not exact. Am I missing anything from my list? Thanks.

PillarofBalance

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
You will need graduated cylinder for accurately measure BA bb and oil - maybe. If you are doing small amounts a 20ml syringe should be fine.

How do you plan on sterilizing glassware and stuff?

DocDePanda187123

fitasfuk50's Operating System
Reaction score
With the Nalgene unit you should also get a glass media jar to fit and junk the receiver part that comes with it if it's plastic.

No reason to spend $43 on a vacuum pump. You should be able to find them half that price at least.

I got away without graduated cylinders by using a syringe to measure out BA and BB

metsfan4life

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
Get you a caulking gun to help with that syringe filtering unless you have god thumbs. Doc is right... you can easily get a pump from hardware store for about $20-$25. I used some mixture oil (grapeseed, virgin olive, cotton seed) and it actually came out pretty damn thin. But GSO is always good. But most importantly... the quality of the powder is #1. Dont ask me how I know...

Infantry87

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score