Injectible L-Carnitine for Fat Loss

NbleSavage

Veteran
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
The Bloke who does some of my programming is a very well-known IFBB Pro in the Masters Class. I'll not name him so don't ask, but he's well respected and has trained some very high level athletes (think Mr. O level).

I'd been doing some research on injectible L-Carnitine as a tool for fat loss and he approached me with his own experience and a protocol for myself to give it a whirl. For those uninitiated, L-Carnitine is an amino acid which aids the body in the production of energy, and is naturally occurring. L-Carnitine supplements (oral) are plentiful and most have had dubious results at best. Injectible L-Carnitine was once difficult to obtain, being most commonly associated with veterinary medicine. When Synthetek broke the news of their L-Carnitine product 'Synthetine' I was intrigued as I'd always had good success with their live support product 'Synthergine' - and no, I'm not a product rep I've just had good experiences running Synthergine and have the blood tests to back it up.

In our case, we were looking to stack the Synthetine with a relatively small dose of fast-acting insulin in our pre-workout to accelerate absorption. We chose Novo as a reliable, fast-in fast-out slin.

*NOTE* I'm NOT advocating the use of insulin to those inexperienced. This was not my first rodeo by a long shot. Fawk this up and you can die.

We can 8 IUs Novo along with 400 Mg Synthetine (L-Carn) sub-q pre-workout for two weeks. We then removed the Novo and persisted the Synthetine for another two weeks. My bodyweight fluctuates around the 100 Kilos marker depending upon time of day and day of week. An estimate of me bodyfat at the start of this experiment was between 10% and 12% per calipers. Not stage ready by a long shot, but I've got a visible if not jaggedly etched six pack.