Let's talk about Intermittent Fasting

Spongy

Senior Moderator
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
So I’ve been getting a lot of inquiries about intermittent fasting on here and via email lately. Enough to warrant starting a thread about it. I want to preface this by saying that I am NOT an expert on intermittent fasting, so everything I say is going to be either from research or from real world experience between some of my clients and me.

Ok, so here goes...

Intermittent Fasting (IF from now on) is based on the idea that we are genetically similar to our ancient ancestors who were primarily hunter-gatherers. As we can all imagine, being a hunter-gatherer was not easy, and it meant that there would times of hardship (no food) and times of abundance (lots of food). So say you send out your best BRAHs to go out and kill a deer. Well, your brolios suck and can't kill a thing. Therefore they come back empty handed. Tough luck buddy, you have no food. Now, let's say YOU go out hunting the next day, and you're a whiz with a spear. BOOM, you killed 4 deer. Chances are you're going to eat WELL that night.

Over time, our bodies developed a predisposition to responding to this type of eating, this so-called Intermittent Fasting. So the IF diet takes this idea and puts it into the modern world. The theory is that our bodies are not meant to consume food regularly, weather it be 3 meals spread out through the day or 6-8 meals consumed every 2 hours.

Yes, I realize this is going to cause some of you die-hard 6-8ers to point at me and yell "BURN HIM, HE'S A WITCH!!!!" But think about it... If we are descended from hunter-gatherers, then wouldn't it make sense that our bodies would carry some of those same genetic traits that allowed for them to survive?