Reaction score
We've all been there! I'm curious as to what you guys consider to be the most effective approach to packing on muscle when someone's first starting out. I started lifting about 2 years ago and I remember being completely lost. Shoot, there's so much information out there that I still sometimes get overwhelmed. I want to know what's most popular and causing the most results so I can keep getting these gains! And maybe we can help some noobs along the way eh? ;)

GuerillaKilla

Peanut Butter ****Sock
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
First of all, my new friend, i highly suggest and encourage you to start an intro thread in the new members sub forum.

Also, please drop the hotlink from your sig before you hear it from the mods. We like to do things a certain way around here and you will thoroughly enjoy the site if you play by the rules.

Welcome to UGBB my man.

Rumpy

SI Founding Member
Reaction score
^^^ Everything GK said, all three things. (I fixed number 2 for you)

Check out the nutrition section, eat BIG. Train hard, work to failure and increase your weights. Repeat often.

Last edited:

DieYoungStrong

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
A true skinny noob? I'd say eat everything you can fit in your pie hole before turning blue. And do it every 3 hours. You have to force feed yourself.

Starting Strength Program or similar until linear progression (increasing weight every workout) runs its course.

stonetag

Elite
Reaction score
Keep to the basic lifts, pay attention to what works, and has worked for you in your 2 year journey and increase the poundage...and oh yeah...eat!

Reaction score
I've definitely noticed that nutrition is the most important thing but it's by far the hardest. I must have the worst appetite in the world. I heard that eating smaller meals more often makes it a little bit easier. But then there's all the preparation haha. It ain't easy getting big haha. At least working out is a blast.