Left leg/foot points out

Itburnstopee

Elite
Reaction score
I've been training for about 7 months now and my only exercise that I can easily increase is my bench. My squat is still only 95-125lbs. I have noticed that my left knee hurts all the time since I started squatting and the pain sometime travels through my leg, my right leg is slightly larger than my left, and my left knee will pop sometimes. I've read about it but people only have similar problems not the exact issue I have.
When standing and sitting my left leg turns out. When I walk/run it is the same. When I go to squat I struggle to keep it pointed straight and this causes pain on the knee. I'm about to start deadlifting this week and I dot know what I should do. I think my leg is messed up because I walked like a duck as a child for 3 months and I can't remember why, this became a habit I guess. What stretches would you have me do? Does anyone have any insight into this problem? I just want to squat and deadlift heavy with a form that won't bring injury or pain.

PillarofBalance

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
Well a few things are possible here.

Usually a foot pointing out means you have a tight glute. Not being able to add weight and having pain when squatting means you are most likely performing your squat with poor form.

You should get in to see a physical therapist. They can evaluate your range of motion and find where you are coming up shoRt. From there they provide a plan to get you back to normal ranges.

snake

Veteran
Reaction score
I second the therapist recommendation. Get this fixed now because once you start adding weight to your squat and DL, it's just going to exacerbate the problem. You can spend the time now or spend the time later after an injury. Good luck and please keep us posted on the outcome.

Itburnstopee

Elite
Reaction score
I'm going to make an appointment with a therapist. I will update after

Ezskanken

Reaction score