Cutting some extra pounds with mini bulking/cutting cycles. Possible?

Reaction score
Like i said on my introduction to the forum i'm a 30 year old male with almost two years of lifting experience under my belt. I have been out of lifting for almost 6 months due to several non lifting injuries, the result of this has been some 30 pounds on my frame.

I started lifting being a skinny fat with a bodyweight of 187, with that I got on a severly strict diet that made me loose more than 30 pounds, after all that effort all I ended up was being skinny and my plan was to do a clean bulk and begin to gain some size, It went kinda well but all that went to hell due the mentioned injuries, so i'm now back to 189 with some more muscle but still being a skinny fat, I'm purposed to go back to the gym after this last injury heals, somewhere mid june, and this time do things right.

One thing that is pretty clear to me is that going back to loose another 30 pounds on a single cut is gonna be tremendously difficult, I remember those months when all the training sessions were exhausting, demoralizing and in general felt like shit, that is something nobody would enjoy and endure it for 3-4 months, and worst of all, just knowing that all that effort would just lead not to a better version of me, just a thinner and smaller one. So I have been looking for alternatives, and I found that Layne Norton recommend(ed) doing some mini cycles of cutting/bulking, doing 6 weeks of bulking and then 2 weeks of cutting. While it's pretty clear that him is a much more leaner and bigger person than me, I think those mini cycles sound more likeable to me.