Zeigler's - Back 2 Base X

John Ziegler

Elite
Reaction score
The past couple of years I have been doing bench and squat's on the same day once or twice a week at best. In the last 6 months more like once or twice a month to be honest.

At any rate I have a new theory that I will start on Sunday. I'm calling it Back 2 Base X for no particular reason.

Sunday Night

Warm Up 15 mins Treadmill

1. Squats 5x5

2. Military press 5x5

Thursday night

Warm up 15 mins Treadmill

1. Flat Bench 5x5

2. Seated Row 5x5

Will change it up after a couple weeks.

Reaction score
I like the set up, why military and squat on the same day though? Why not keep it bench and squat on the same day? I believe Wendler has a similar template but he keeps the squat and bench on the same day because of the stress on the lower back. I see your doing 5x5 so I'm guessing weight up to the 70-80% range? Might take its toll on that lower back on press/squat day. Just a thought, I'm no pro

mickems

Elite
Reaction score
The past couple of years I have been doing bench and squat's on the same day once or twice a week at best. In the last 6 months more like once or twice a month to be honest.

At any rate I have a new theory that I will start on Sunday. I'm calling it Back 2 Base X for no particular reason.

Sunday Night

Warm Up 15 mins Treadmill

1. Squats 5x5

2. Military press 5x5

Thursday night

Warm up 15 mins Treadmill

1. Flat Bench 5x5

2. Seated Row 5x5

Will change it up after a couple weeks.

What exactly are your goals? What are you trying to accomplish as far as short/long term results?

ToolSteel

KingOfSquat
Reaction score
DGzSZ8h.png

John Ziegler

Elite
Reaction score
Would be so much cooler if u called it "back to base ECKS"

X <----- short for ECKS

I like the set up, why military and squat on the same day though?

Working the upper and lower body in a similar fashion.

What exactly are your goals? What are you trying to accomplish as far as short/long term results?

Goals