Getting started in PL

Runningwild

Elite
Reaction score
Hey guys so I am a total noob when it comes to powerlifting and meets. First what are some of the Feds that doesn't test. I have no idea where to even start to look to find local meets to compete in? Second what are the weight classes? Third my current weight is 224, what kind of totals would be competitive at this weight in a small local meet. I know either way it's good to just go and start getting the experience I am more just curious. I am thinking about doing my first meet next year depending on what and when something is in my area.

Thanks guys

ECKSRATED

UG BENCH KING
Reaction score
Don't think about doing your first meet just do it. Doesn't matter about your lifts. Get the experience of being in one under your belt. Me and a lot of others compete in the RPS. powerlifting watch has lists of meets all over the country.

U could cut a few pounds and be in the 220 class or bulk up in the 242.

Runningwild

Elite
Reaction score
Yea you are right I will be doing a meet. I'll check out rps and powerlifting watch and see what is coming up next in my area

Thanks for giving me a direction to look in order the start

Runningwild

Elite
Reaction score
So doesn't look like RPS has any meets in my area but I do see meets for USPA. Does anyone have any experience with that fed?

ron1204

Elite
Reaction score
I've been thinking about getting into PL too. Sub'ed for hopefully more info

Milo

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
So doesn't look like RPS has any meets in my area but I do see meets for USPA. Does anyone have any experience with that fed?
Tested fed. If you've ever taken AAS, stay out of it.

ron1204

Elite
Reaction score
How are they able to test if you took gear a long time ago and your completely off with normal test levels though ?

Milo

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
How are they able to test if you took gear a long time ago and your completely off with normal test levels though ?