Need advice from a former fat girl (cut? bulk? confused)

Muffy

Lady Member
Reaction score
Ok, so how do I build muscle and burn fat? (if that's even possible) I have a lot of bodyfat (over 30%). However, I have an awesome shape. Small waste, broad shoulders, big thighs (needs to be smaller though)...decent ass. I am 37 with 2 children (daughter did a number on me). I want to build muscle but I am confused on my caloric intake. So far I eat 1865 calories on maintenance (I believe this means deficit) and a little over 2000 when training (surplus?). Some days. I am strong, some days I am weak. Don't really know how to progress and at what point to recaluclate my TDEE. I've been training for 5 months and am losing my assets (however I've maintained a weight of 165 lbs). tits and ass are gone! I thought training helped you to build them. Hmmm... I'm seeing a bit of definition upper body but lower body...(nothing). Perhaps I don't have realistic goals....what's with all the 6 month transformations anyway??

I've obviously been going about things wrong because I've had 2 injuries so far (the beauty of trying on your own) (injured hip flexors recently). I have had a lot of great advice and information on here but still a bit confused. Don't know how I should go about my diet. I am afraid to gain weight and I am afraid to lose weight. I am a female wanting to look like more of a fitness model...so muscle without too much size (bulk). I am aunatural so I don't take gear (will probably think about it in future), however right now I am not even close to the level I need to be at. I know at times we all forget when we first began and what it was like.