Does walking not count at cardio?

xyokoma

Elite Lady Member
Reaction score
So i do a fair bit of walking these days, around 11km each day and tracker usually sits at around 400kcal at the end of the day.

A friend whos PT tells me walking doesnt really burn any calories at all and the tracker's data is useless.

I am a firm believer in numbers but i do sort of get where he's coming from. However, i have very little knowledge in that area.

So my question to you guys, do you count walking as cardio or at least do you think excessive walking does burn a similar of calories to what the tracker shows? And do you substitute a part of your cardio routines with walking?

Are 400kcal of running equal to 400kcal of walking when it comes to the effect on the body?

Sorry for this retard question, but i might as well find out now if substituting part of cardio with walking is useless.

ron1204

Elite
Reaction score
In my opinion 400 calories exherted are the same whether it's walking, sprinting or working out. Now, as in CARDIO, like actual cardio benefits, I don't think it's very beneficial. Running or jogging should have much better cardio benefits. this is just what I think, anyone with credential proof can give better response

Milo

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
You burn calories sleeping so thats a ridiculous ****ing statement.
Depends on how much you want to burn and on your goals. I dont try to burn calories but I do a ton of walking at school and Im out of shape so Im heaving pretty good afterwards.

BigSwolePump

Elite
Reaction score
Cardio involves getting your heart rate elevated for an extended period of time. I can walk a mile at a normal pace without elevating my heart rate. What do you think?

Edit: