The Ketogenic Sponge

Spongy

Senior Moderator
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
Well, I've decided to go Keto. I am doing this for two reasons.

1) To piss off POB

2) I've never done a strict Keto diet before and there seems to be some interest in it on the board suddenly so why not test it out?

I will be consuming 5% carb, 25% protein, and 70% fat.

I'll be keeping track of my mood, mental acuity, irritability, and energy level along with weight, etc.

Training stays the same.

I'm ok with losing some LBM because I've got an endurance event in March 2019 (To piss off POB) I'm training for where excessive weight in any form will reduce performance. I am still young by most accounts but need to start looking at overall health and longevity now that I've got two kiddos in the mix.

Rhino99

Elite
Reaction score
Im in for the log.
Good luck brother.

Flyingdragon

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
U going to test if your actually in ketosis? Most on keto never make it 2 ketosis.....

Viduus

Elite
Reaction score
I noticed better healing when I ate a bit more fat. Curious if you get a chance to test that.

I was pretty depleted and doing weekly carb ups but I didn’t notice a difference with wound healing until I took your advice and at a little higher (lots of steak). I’m pretty sure the calories weren’t out of line with my higher carb days but something changed.

Haven’t done any research around it but if you notice anything when making the switch, let me know!

Spongy

Senior Moderator
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
U going to test if your actually in ketosis? Most on keto never make it 2 ketosis.....

I've got the pee strips if that's what you mean. I may go out and get a glucometer as well.

Spongy

Senior Moderator
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
First day down.

Thirstier than normal, but that could just be a coincidence.

feeling pretty full right now, but I just had a 700 calorie smoothie so we will see if it sticks.

65% fat

9% carb

26% protein