How to get Calves to grow

Reaction score
How in the f*** do I get my calves to grow. I started lifting 4 years ago for the main purpose that I wanted to increase my lower leg size, well now it’s four years later and the rest of me has grown nicely but my calves just haven’t nudged very much at all. Currently I’m just running Madcows 5x5 and adding in 3x12 seated calf raises at 110 Lbs then on the last set I drop set it down to 45 Lbs and hit out another 30. Whenever I do standing calf raises I absolutely just don’t feel my calves working at all, I can’t get any mind muscle connection with them. Please help out your chicken legged fellow. (P.S my upper legs are decent and respond to training well, I only have problem with the lower leg.)

Viduus

Elite
Reaction score
Seated will work your soleus (sp?) the thinner longer muscle underneath. That’s used a lot for keeping you standing upright if I remember correctly. It has a ton of endurance since it’s used to walk. Can’t train in weak for 20 seconds. You have to really tire it out.

The outer one that looks like the ball gastro...something... to lazy to look it up. Is used more for explosive power/jumping. Use heavy standing calf raises but do the explosively with a deep stretch.

stonetag

Elite
Reaction score
I'm not going to say what is inevitably going to be said here.

Spongy

Senior Moderator
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
Are you working your tibialis anterior as well?

Hurt

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
Your calves are, by design, able to tolerate massive volume and time under tension.

You need to up the volume considerably IMO. Also at what frequency do you train them? Once a week, twice, three times?