Hello From AZ, USA

Reaction score
Hello, I have greatly enjoyed my time reading on UG and feel like it is time to introduce myself. I am 40 and live in Arizona. I've been particularly overweight most of my life. This has only gotten worse with age and starting a family.

I have been working out in the gym about 2 times a week for the last 18 months, this has increased to 7 days a week for the last 90 days. Cardio every day (30 mins), one day a week w/ no weights. I am doing a push, pull, legs routine. I was 280lbs around nov 2018, currently at 250lbs (5'10") with more LBM. Still I would guess my bf% to be around 36%. Everything I read says I am i) too novice into training to consider a cycle, ii) too fat, and iii) probably lack the discipline to properly employ one.

What I am really looking for advice on how to improve on what I have already been able to accomplish. I love going to the gym. I hate dieting but see the immediate need to clean up my nutrition. If I am to be honest, I also need to address a my alcohol consumption as I am sure that current levels are a major contributor to a litany of health concerns and my unwillingness to adhere to a proper diet. Thank you for having me.

Spongy

Senior Moderator
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
If you're ever in Scottsdale swing by Peak Nutrition and tell the Viking what's up.

Welcome

Grizzly911

Elite
Reaction score
Welcome to the UG. You have most of the good parts going already, gradually clean up your diet and stick with it as long as you can then it becomes normal. Spongy is the man to talk to for this.

Jin

Retired UG Staff
Reaction score
Welcome brother. Unfortunately diet is king when it comes to weight, both losing and gaining.

One cautionary note: don’t burn out. Consistency is key. IMO working out 7 days a week is no Bueno. Take a rest day. Your body needs it.

dk8594

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score