Protein Absorbtion

Reaction score
Ive been reading a lot about protein absorption and keep finding a lot of mixed information out there.

When I started training I was really loading up on protein shakes twice a day and just chugging them down.

Ive gotten to the point of taking the same amount of protein but at 4 increments. Basically between meals and shakes I eat/drink every two hours. I eat, finish, set a 2 hour timer on my watch.

Cant really say I've noticed a difference but its habit now.

I guess the real question is what are everyones thoughts on how much protein can be absorbed in one strait shot? Does anything over 30-40 Grams just get pissed out?

CJ

Mod Squad
Reaction score
You absorb and use it all, in one way or another. Otherwise you could eat 10,000 calories of cod every day and not gain weight.

BigSwolePump

Elite
Reaction score
To many studies and opinions out there that contradict themselves IMO.

I make sure that by the time I go to bed, I have taken in enough protein to meet my macro goals.

I have eaten over 100 grams of protein at once and as little as 2 grams in a snack and have never seen a difference with the exception of being more full or less full after the meal.

My opinion, don't sweat the small stuff. Eat, train, sleep repeat.

Jin

Retired UG Staff
Reaction score
We’re using the same hardware we used when we were hunter gatherers. Probably the same as before we knew how to preserve meat.

We’re not too dissimilar from animals either. Wolves will eat 10-20 pounds of meat. Certainly that doesn’t go to waste.

So, after a big kill we used to gorge ourselves, like wolves do to this day because they cannot preserve food for later.

And here we remain. A civilized species with supermarkets.

The body doesn’t just discard nutrients IMO

This is my thinking and logic. It might be off.

NbleSavage

Veteran
SI Founding Member
Reaction score