With or without a gym partner?

Reaction score
I’ve been working out for a few years now. Mostly because I couldn’t find a reliable partner but now I lift alone because I hate waiting for someone. Is it more beneficial to lift with someone who isn’t as strong as myself or dedicated, or should I keep lifting on my own to avoid taking too long of breaks?

Reaction score
Yup, they almost always get too lazy or are never dedicated enough. I need one so I can do a max day some time soon.

NbleSavage

Veteran
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
One more fer training solo. Unless yer part of a team (PL, thai, etc) tis far more efficient to let yer schedule and yer intensity be yer own.

Reaction score
My workout would be ruined if I had to train with someone. Except my dad, I’ll always lift with pops if he wants to join me.

dk8594

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
I train alone, but I would consider training with a partner who was dedicated, worked hard, and was willing to follow my lead. If they missed one work out, though, I’d be done with them.

Bro Bundy

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
If u can have a partner who wants its just as bad it can be a great benefit..I always lifted alone

simplesteve

Elite
Reaction score
I have a lifting partner, but like you said he isnt always reliable. Its more like, he knows when and what days ill be at the gym. If he wants me to scoop him up before hand i will

But I NEVER let whatever hes got going on dictate how my training is going to go.

El Gringo

Reaction score
Having a lifting partner is great for strength training. Having a spotter allows you to go to failure and attempt <3 rep maxes. It also gives you added motivation because you never want to lift less than them.