Thinking of running a cycle

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm thinking of running a cycle of test to regain some lost athleticism. I'm 35 yrs old, and I'm a former competitive martial artist with designs on competing again. My last comp was 7 years ago. I'm 5'8 153lbs currently with very little body fat. Not sure on the percentage.

Before covid I was already planning a return to competition in 2020 and training like a demon. The pandemic, running a business, and 3yr old twins has taken a toll on my fitness and training. I also have hashimotos thyroiditis and take meds everyday to control TSH. My testosterone tested recently at 855, and my SHBG was 88. I believe that SHBG is quite a bit higher than normal? I'm not trying be a bodybuilder. I am trying to be a "beast" again, but I don't believe I'm interested in long term, ie years, of anabolic use. Any tips, suggestions, and knowledge will be greatly appreciated!

Gabriel

Reaction score
What type of MA?.. I'm an old guy that started young in the arts.a few belts in different fields..been out of the dojo in some yrs..still miss it.. anyway,a cycle of Test and some real eating.. training MA burns a ton of cals so you might have to switch up..

Reaction score
Jiu-jitsu and muay thai mainly. I have a black belt in jiu-jitsu and have competed in grappling tournaments and fought MMA a few times. As a kid I studied Kempo and competed in point sparring and kickboxing. I was on the cusp of a pro career, training at ATT headquarters, then I blew my knee out for the third time. I'm looking to fight again. Ideally 5-6 more fights before I let go of competition for good and focus on coaching.

Jin

Retired UG Staff
Reaction score
Rolling the dice at 35 with a mid 800 test level? And you don’t even want to be big?

I’d consider sticking with with diet and exercise. Hormones are not what’s holding you back.

Seeker

Veteran
SI Founding Member
Reaction score