Opinion help guys

Bullseye Forever

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
Ok most know i had labrum and bone spur surgery last year on my left shoulder,its doing well,nerves growing back slowly,still limited to what i can do esp db shoulder presses and military presses,not because i cant lift it,my arm is unstable,i also only do DB chest excercises instead of BB unless its light

my question is my right shoulder has an inflamed rotatar cuff,no biggie,had it MRI's etc just inflmated,and i do close grip bench for one of my tricep mass builders,would it be better to use the smith machine to do this or regular BB? My max on BB CGB is 225 with a slight hurt in my rotator cuff,and im not comfortable doing that,dont wanna take the chance,i can lower it to like 185 and be fine and do more reps,i was just wondering would a smith machine give me more stability and less likely to injure it even worse?

cranium85

Banned
Reaction score
i think thats a giving buddy, im no pro but machines are safer all around, the only reason i don't like them is cuz they don't work those stabalizing muscles or what not. if u are afraid of hurting yourself....or hurting yourself more....i would go qwith your gut and use the machine. at the end of the day your still getting it in and working that musle group.

thats just me like i said im no VET

maybe someone with more experience can chime in and help our man BullsEye out

ken Sass

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
i have had 3 shoulder surgery's. i do no military press's with a barbell. all my shoulder press work is on the hammer strength shoulder machine. i also do upright rows with the cable .i still do all the b.s. exercises the p.t. people gave me except with weight. dumbbell for medial and posterior delts and shrugs i was told never to do barbell military press by my ortho guy. but of course i am a lot older than you

Z

Zeek