Role of estrogen in hormonal acne

Reaction score
Hormonal acne has been a bitch for me since I started lifting.

I usually let my estrogen levels stay slightly high out of range, but this acne wouldn't go away even when I got on low doses of trt (60-80mg / wk).

It's finally gone now, and it seems like the trick was being more aggressive with my AI. Apparently I aromatize a lot because my estradiol levels stayed high on 60-80mg of trt.

I've been splitting my trt dose to twice a week and doing 25mg aromasin with each shot, then 12mg mid week. New bumps completely stopped over the course of a few weeks when I first did this.

I got lax with the AI for a while and they started coming back, so again, I got aggressive with the aformentioned doses and 2 weeks later acne is all gone again.

Has anyone else noticed a relationship between estrogen and hormonal acne? I seem to remember a few other anecdotal comments, but haven't seen a thread on this.

Last edited:

ATLRigger

Elite
Reaction score
Yes i have the exact same experience.
Test seems to be androgenic to me bc it makes me lose hair and enlarges my prostate, causing me to pee several times in the middle of the night. So, I’m experimenting with other compounds and trying to get away from testosterone blasts.

I started tanning at the salon again recently, and that fried all of the acne away.

Jin

Retired UG Staff
Reaction score
I think both of you are onto something.

Firstly we need to remember that we’re all different, so many folks will never experience the issues that you guys have in the doses you take.

As for me. I prefer my trt at 150 as opposed to 200 because it’s less problematic for the same reasons ATL mentioned: less waking up in the middle of the night to pee.

I’m not prone to acne at all. But, when my e2 is super high, I’ll get some. I think Cohiba’s e2 management is the correct solution to his problem.

Again, we all respond differently to elevated e2. You need to know how high e2 effects YOU.