Testosterone causes males to die earlier than females?

Hero Swole

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=why-women-live-longer

So clearly I'm no expert but here's an interesting article that gives a more scientific possible explanation for why women tend to live longer. Also explains why factors such as a healthy lifestyle and less stressful work are not likely causes.

Basically, for those who don't care to read it, it says the health of the female body is important for successful reproduction (to carry, birth and feed the baby) where as the man's reproductive role is a lot less dependent on his continued good health.

Apparently high levels of testosterone, for male fertility, is actually bad for long term survival. Not exactly sure why though.

http://www.reddit.com/r/explainlike...why_do_women_live_longer_than_men_on_average/

graniteman

SI Founding Member
Reaction score
everybody got to go sometime, might as well go out looking and feeling good! i don't put much stock i nthese studies anymore. Look at all the flip flops in the past, they change their opinion every 6 months

Hero Swole

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
My grandfather, aunt and uncle died of cancer. My grandmother had Parkinson my dad MS my cousin is a junkie. Id rather die of a heart attack "due to aas" if you ask me. "Or too much testosterone". I accept my mortality. Lift Heavy, Get wiser, Stay Sexy.

TylerDurdn

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
If that info is right, I have no problem being wrong.

regular

SI Founding Member
Reaction score
I'd rather be a man and die sooner than be a woman. I'd rather die sooner with adequate amounts of testosterone in my body. The author didn't provide a single citation for any of the claims the article made.

Rumpy

SI Founding Member
Reaction score
Maybe we die sooner because of all of the risk factors associated with all of the stupid shit we do trying to impress females.

Azog

Elite