How often can you work a particular muscle group while on cycle

IWannaGetBig

SI Founding Member
Reaction score
Like the title says, how often can you work a particular muscle group while on cycle? I know I'll get responses like "you have to know or feel your own body." But has anyone read any statistics or studies that say that a muscle can repair itself after X number of hours/days and be ready to handle another workout?
IWGB

ccpro

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
I'm a novice but I've gotten decent results from once a week, trouble areas 2x. If you have the time I'm sure 2x is better for growth!

grind4it

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
There are a lot variables that playing to answering this question. Unfortantly, its my opion that there is no cut and dry answer to this question....just my opinion.

For me personally, I can hit the same muscle groups every day if I am doing compound moves, eating right and on cycle. If I am doing isolation moves and high reps to failure it usally take my body 2-3 days to recover.
Bottom line it all comes down to learning your body. For me the goal is to go all the way to the edge of over training without crossing the line.

ken Sass

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
i am trt so no high doseing but i hit every thing once except abs eod calves and lower back twice a week

Curiosity

SI Founding Member
Reaction score
I would say the absolute minimum time you should rest between training the same muscle groups twice is 48 hours. There is disagreement on this topic, but I have seen studies that support this.