Water retention hiding my true gains or something else?

Reaction score
I’m new to lifting. Just completed my 4th week of 5 days a week of lifting of the bigger leaner stronger programme, mixed with some cardio and sauna. Im fully following BLS protocol with the one year challenge programme and measuring food so I know exactly what I’m eating. I’m using the cutting suggested diet percentages.

After 4 weeks, going by scales, I’ve put on 1.6 pounds on muscle and a bit more of fat, 2 pounds. My overall weight has increased. I do feel stronger, my lifting targets have been going up. I feel a change in my body and my clothes are looser. Ive been consistent with the food and number of days per week.

I know home scales are inaccurate but they should follow a trend. Might start at X% but with exercise that should decrease even if its not accurate. From some research this could be down to water retention but I’m about to start my fifth week. Should it have normalised by now so the scales match what I’m seeing in the mirror. How long does it take? There has to be a point where my body fat percentage starts to drop but I’m just see it going up. I know its not food calories as ive said im following the plan with precision. Could it be something else? I only weigh myself once a week so im not obsessed with weighing myself but its a nice pat on the back when it matches what you see.

Yano

Flatlandah
Reaction score
Quickest way I know how to get water out of me is to put more in. I know that sounds counter productive but the body self regulates many systems for us when we fuck shit up so when you dont get enough water your body reacts by trying to hold to more of it ya follow ?

increase your water in , you will get more water out , your body says , oh shit basements flooding we need to get rid of some of this and it fires up the pumps.