Novice Lifter - Best set/rep for muscle growth

Reaction score
I am 45 years old and have been doing the Strong Lifts 5x5 program for a few months. This is my first time working out for that length of time. I had a lot of growth in my legs and have gained strength all around. However, I am not gaining much muscle in my upper body. I read that more reps will help with muscle growth. Should I switch from 5x5 to 3x8? Should I do something else? I want to gain muscle so that I burn more calories and lose fat also to look better, I am overweight right now. Thanks, this is my first post.

CJ

Mod Squad
Reaction score
Can you recommend any sources for a good plan?
How does your nutrition look right now?

Give us a representative example of a day's worth of food. And don't omit any snacks, tasty drinks, or anything you don't want us to see.

Reaction score
How does your nutrition look right now?

Give us a representative example of a day's worth of food. And don't omit any snacks, tasty drinks, or anything you don't want us to see.
I eat mostly low-carb. Like a dirty keto. I snack on nuts, protein bars, and cheese. I eat a low-carb dinner which is often meat and vegetable. I drink coffee with heavy cream and occasionally Starbucks egg bites. Also, I drink Coke Zero like it was going out of style. I don't track my calories anymore.

CJ

Mod Squad
Reaction score
I eat mostly low-carb. Like a dirty keto. I snack on nuts, protein bars, and cheese. I eat a low-carb dinner which is often meat and vegetable. I drink coffee with heavy cream and occasionally Starbucks egg bites. Also, I drink Coke Zero like it was going out of style. I don't track my calories anymore.
Carbs are very helpful in the muscle building process. No issues with you eating very low carb, but be aware that there is a trade off there.

CJ

Mod Squad
Reaction score
What is the trade off? I am type 2 diabetic.
Fair enough, that's a wild card I didn't see coming.