Build muscle and drop body fat at the same time with a high fat low carb diet?

Reaction score
Build muscle and drop body fat at the same time with a high fat low carb diet?

So i have been working out for 2 years and eating well on a usual high carb high protein diet in order to build muscle. I'm (6'2/187 Lbs)

My calorie intake was always 300+ of my BMR and its respective activity level so i could bulk. I had a break of 3 months now because of an injury and I'm trying to get back. One thing i want to do this time around is to build muscle but not have that belly fat and actually get a flat stomach over time with a stable BF %.

I was wondering if working out and eating on a maintenance level while being on a high fat, high protein low carb diet could make me gain muscle while losing body fat percentage at the same time. One thing i really don't want to do is to lose muscle. I would be really grateful for your help.

noonski1

SI Founding Member
Reaction score
You're talking about body recomposition, regardless of what diet you're using to achieve that.

Is it possible to eat at maintenance calories, whilst building muscle AND reducing body fat? Yes. But it is very slow, and very difficult. Especially if, I am presuming a male, you have the standard male genetics and the abdominal fat is the last to leave as you cannot spot reduce your abdominal fat. Being on a keto diet though, as you've outlined, will help shift the body fat fairly quickly based on how the long-term effects of the diet work.

If your main focus is for an appealing abdominal area you'd be better off entering a cut now, hitting HIIT cardio hard, and aiming to build your core, abs and obliques so that they have an aesthetic appearance later on during a higher body fat percentage when you eventually enter a slight clean calorie surplus.

jpreston250300

Reaction score
Get you cardio on track this summer and cut unwanted fat. Clean bulk this fall and winter, then cut spring.