Shin splints

Reaction score
Long time lurker, first time poster. So I have been doing HIIT cardio on active recovery days and as a result got fucking shin splints. I was wondering if anyone has been able to lift through them? I was reading that seated calf raisers can help prevent them but I’m worried about putting more weight on it. My leg day is coming up tomorrow and I was just looking for some insight. I work as a mechanic so staying off my leg is not really possible. I have been icing it at home. I was thinking about staying home to try to recover but I haven’t missed a day in the gym in about 7 months now. Any advice is welcome. Thanks!

TODAY

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
What type of HIIT are you doing?

Reaction score
Take a week off.

When you come back, train harder.
Do you thinking upper body strength training would be okay still or just stay home and recover completely. I was thinking maybe some foam rolling might help but not entirely sure.

Btcowboy

Reaction score
Long time lurker, first time poster. So I have been doing HIIT cardio on active recovery days and as a result got fucking shin splints. I was wondering if anyone has been able to lift through them? I was reading that seated calf raisers can help prevent them but I’m worried about putting more weight on it. My leg day is coming up tomorrow and I was just looking for some insight. I work as a mechanic so staying off my leg is not really possible. I have been icing it at home. I was thinking about staying home to try to recover but I haven’t missed a day in the gym in about 7 months now. Any advice is welcome. Thanks!
Just keep lifting

I was training for a couple FD fitness tests. I got shin splints both legs, plantar Fasciatis in one leg and piriformis syndrome in left side. No issues lifting other than the piriformis syndrome. The shin splints are fine to lift with.

Goggins did 16 weeks of BUDS 20miles a day with shin splints I think you can lift with them

Reaction score