Nervous System Recovery

Reaction score
So I’ve been reading up on over training and training models of the professionals. Obviously I’m not an IFBB pro. Newer research seems to suggest that over training is a real thing, especially for beginners (which I don’t consider myself.) Theres people like Arnold, jay cutler, phil heathwho seem to think more is more. There’s others like mike m, Yates that think beyond failure but less often is more. You hear a lot of “whatever works best for you.”

My question is around nervous system recovery. I understand letting muscles recover and restoring depleted glycogen. But what actually needs to recover from a nervous system standpoint. What is depleted, what needs to be restored. Can’t the body simply adjust to stress/stimuli? What about people that run half a marathon every day?

What studies are there that actually back nervous system breakdown/recovery? Is there any evidence that it’s actually the nervous system that needs recovery and not just the muscles/tendons etc.?

Test_subject

Super Duper Elite
Reaction score
So I’ve been reading up on over training and training models of the professionals. Obviously I’m not an IFBB pro. Newer research seems to suggest that over training is a real thing, especially for beginners (which I don’t consider myself.) Theres people like Arnold, jay cutler, phil heathwho seem to think more is more. There’s others like mike m, Yates that think beyond failure but less often is more. You hear a lot of “whatever works best for you.”

My question is around nervous system recovery. I understand letting muscles recover and restoring depleted glycogen. But what actually needs to recover from a nervous system standpoint. What is depleted, what needs to be restored. Can’t the body simply adjust to stress/stimuli? What about people that run half a marathon every day?